From The Archives #2

27 05 2008

If you have read the website on the History of the Venus, you will know that in the early 50’s, Japanese toy manufacturer Nomura (“TN”) released a steel friction-toy of the “Ford Venus”. From what I have been able to find, they made 2 different versions in 3 different colors…red, dark blue, and light blue. Over a period of many years, I have been fortunate enough to have been able to purchase an example of each, along with the original box. These are quite rare and not cheap! Below are some photos of the Venus friction toys (please click for larger image)

In the above photo, note the difference between the engines and slight interior change. All three have clear plastic covers for a hood (hard to see). The red and light-blue versions have the same engine design and use a 9v battery. The dark blue version is an older style friction-toy where sparks are made with a flint (I think).

Last but not least, there are 2 styles of boxes:

 

In the first box example, note that everyone is driving a Venus (what a wonderful world THAT would be!), and, there’s a yellow one to boot! (No, I haven’t ever seen a yellow version of these toys).

Yeah, I know….too much information; too much time on my hands…but I think this is just so coool! But now that I have all three versions, I can relax. Sure seems that Nomura went to an awful lot of trouble to replicate a car of which less than a dozen of the real thing were ever made.

Before I forget, here is a link to a very nice article on the Venus, written by my friend Harold Pace for Kit Car magazine:
http://www.kitcarmag.com/preview/0711kc_venus_kit_car/index.html

Thanks for viewing my blog!


Actions

Information

2 responses

28 05 2008
Sandra Duffey

You are the BEST as always. From your biggest (and I don’t mean Oprah-size) fan.

29 06 2008
19Fordy (Jim Pullen) FL.

Patrick, WOW! What you are doing is spectacular re: Venus Project. I can tell from your blog that your dad was really a special person and a forward thinker. I think it’s great that you are bringing the VENUS back to life. Don’t give up. Follow your dream (and his) to completion.

Leave a Reply

